Friday, Feb. 3, 2023

For translations, visit our website and choose your preferred language at the top right.

Guidance on applying for FEMA disaster assistance for storm damages

Alameda County was added this week to the major disaster declaration for California’s severe storms and flooding, meaning residents who had damage or losses from the storms that began Dec. 27, 2022, may now apply for FEMA disaster assistance. The declaration allows FEMA to provide direct support to individuals and households in Alameda County and 12 other California counties.

The deadline for homeowners or renters to apply is March 16, 2023. Disaster assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs as well as other serious disaster-related needs such as medical and dental expenses, transportation, childcare, and moving and storage expenses.

Residents who have insurance should first file a claim with their insurance provider. FEMA provides assistance for uninsured or underinsured disaster-caused expenses and serious needs.

Applicants must use the disaster incident number DR-4683-CA when applying. There are several ways to apply for FEMA assistance under the Individual Assistance program:

  • Visit and apply via their online application
  • Download the FEMA mobile app
  • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. Help is available in many languages and lines are open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. daily. Press 2 for Spanish. Press 3 for an interpreter who speaks your language. If you use video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA your number for that service.
  • Visit any Disaster Recovery Center and meet with FEMA staff and representatives of other federal and state agencies who can provide information about disaster assistance. To find a recovery center near you, visit the DRC Locator on the FEMA website.

For additional help in applying, watch an accessible video on how to apply here or visit

Apply for disaster assistance

Email Marketing by ActiveCampaign